School Bus

The BusWA School Bus Division has over 350 members. The majority of members are owner-drivers. The division undertakes the following functions:

Function of the BusWA School Bus Division

  • Assists with reviews of Government policy;
  • Undertakes the role of sector representative and advocate;
  • Assists in the implementation of policy, changes to government policy, contractual issues;
  • Acts as an Industry reference point;
  • Key industry stakeholder;
  • Strengthens commonality in the industry.

School Bus Resources

The following resources are available to school bus members only and can be accessed by clicking the link provided below. Please note: you will be required to log in to view this page.

Click here to access the School Bus Resources page
ROI Bandings
Rate Calculations –  Bus Aide Wages
Rate Calculations –  Driver’s Wages Under 25 Adult Seat Vechile
Rate Calculations –  Driver’s Wages Over 25 Adult Seat Vechile
Location Allowance for Driver’s Wages
Evergreen Contract Model Indexation – January 2016
Policy – CCTV on Buses
Evergreen Contract Model Calculation Sheets
Comprehensive Insurance Matrix

School Bus Executive Committee

The School Bus Division has its own committee consisting of a Chairman, a Manager and a number of area representatives, who represent the following areas.

  • Kimberley, Pilbara, Gascoyne & Midwest
  • Perth
  • Wheatbelt
  • Peel
  • South West
  • Goldfields – Esperance, Great Southern

The orange school bus system has been operating in Western Australia on a dedicated contract basis since 1918. The service, which carries some 26,000 students over 145,000 kilometres per day, is underpinned by an excellent safety record, stability and reliability. It is highly valued by the many communities throughout WA that it services.

There are around 850 contracts in WA generally operated by small family businesses. Around 715 school bus contracts provide services for children attending mainstream schools and the remainder for children attending Education Support Facilities.

The orange school bus system is especially important to regional communities, where students cannot access regular public transport services and in many cases, their homes are a considerable distance from schools.

2015/16 Executive Committee

The Annual General Meeting of the School Bus Division is generally scheduled for October of each year. One of the functions of the AGM is to elect the Executive and Committee. At the 2014 AGM, the following committee members were elected to lead the Division over the next 12 months;

Chairman Dennis Sutton
Deputy Chairman Ray Gannaway
Committee Ian Harrower
Lloyd Shepherdson
Ben Doolan
Michael Baulch
Mike Hobley
Nat Muir
Kris Turner
The Manager Wally Gargano, who operates from the WARTA Office in Carlisle.

Interested in joining the School Bus Division?

Take a look at our membership page and complete our online membership enquiry form. Or contact our friendly team on (08) 9355 3022.